United Nations, New York, January 24: The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is now accepting applications from professional journalists from mainly developing countries for its 2018 fellowship program. The application deadline is March 12, 2018.

The fellowships are available to radio, television, print and web journalists, age 25 to 35, from developing countries who are interested in coming to New York to report on international affairs during the 73rd session of the United Nations General Assembly. The fellowships will begin in early September and extend to late November and will include the cost of travel and accommodations in New York, as well as a per diem allowance.

The fellowship program is open to journalists who are native to one of the developing countries in Africa, Asia, and Latin America/the Caribbean and are currently working for media organizations. Applicants must demonstrate an interest in and commitment to international affairs and to conveying a better understanding of the United Nations to their readers and audiences. They must also have approval from their media organizations to spend up to three months in New York to report from the United Nations.

In an effort to rotate recipient countries, the Fund will not consider journalist applications for 2017 from nations selected in 2017: Afghanistan, Nigeria, Sudan and Zimbabwe. Journalists from these countries may apply in 2019.

A minimum of four journalists are selected each year after a review of all applications. The journalists who are awarded fellowships are given the incomparable opportunity to observe international diplomatic deliberations at the United Nations, to make professional contacts that will serve them for years to come, to interact with seasoned journalists from around the world, and to gain a broader perspective and understanding of matters of global concern. Many past fellows have risen to prominence in their professional and countries. The program is not intended to provide basic skills training to journalists; all participants are media professionals.

Full fellowship eligibility criteria and documentation requirements as well as the fellowship application form and other instructions can be found on the Fund’s web site at www.unjournalismfellowship.org

Questions about the program, eligibility and application process can be directed by email to fellowship2018@unjournalismfellowship.org.

THE 21st Annual Human Rights Press Awards 2016

Organized By:

The Foreign Correspondents' Club, Hong Kong
Amnesty International Hong Kong
Hong Kong Journalists Association

Asia's most prestigious honors recognizing outstanding human rights reporting are now open for entry. The goal of the Awards is to increase respect for people's basic rights and to focus attentions on threats to those freedoms.

Submissions must have been published or broadcast during the past calendar year between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2016. The entry deadline is 31 January 2017. All entries must be reported from the Asia region. Submissions must be in either English or Chinese. Categories include text and print, editorials & commentary, radio, TV, photography, cartoons and multi-media.

IMPORTANT: Each entry must clearly cite the specific Article of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights that the work seeks to address.

The full document can be seen here:

The entry registration is at:

For further information, please visit:

Other contacts:

  • The University of Hong Kong (award administrator): hrpa@hku.hk / (852) 3917-1155
  • Foreign Correspondents' Club: (852) 2521-1511
  • Amnesty International Hong Kong: (852) 2300-1250 Ms. Mabel Au
  • Hong Kong Journalists Association: (852) 2591-0692

The Charles Wallace India Trust Awards To Study In Uk. Deadline For Applications: 30 November 2016

Fellowships for Media Collaborators

The Government of Mexico offers the following Fellowships for Informative Media Collaborators, for working professionals in print and electronic media.

The successful applicants to this fellowship will receive international transportation from the capital of the country of origin to Mexico City and national transport, if required, to the destination city where the applicant will carry out their activities. The length of stay may be from 5 days to 1 month, in which the awardees shall produce articles, reports or interviews on Mexico. The fellowship also includes a stipend payment equal to approximately 627.90 USD. Media outlets can benefit from this grant in the form of well-researched stories.

I invite you to spread the word about this opportunity. The grant is for individual use and the deadline for submitting applications is September 15th, 2016. All applications must be submitted through the Academic Cooperation Management System: https://sigca.sre.gob.mx/login

Submissions should include the following:

  • Online application with photo
  • Letter from media outlet
  • Write up of reasons to do the story
  • Detailed workplan
  • Portfolio with 3 publications
  • Medical certificate
  • Copy of passport
  • Signed letter of acceptance of conditions

More information on the fellowship details can be had from the attached document.

If you have any queries on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are in the best disposition of providing guidance and support.


Ena Joseph

Andrea Huerta



For more information: