6:30 PM on Friday 28 September 2018


A Talk by Dr Rajiv Kumar, Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog

At the FCC (AB-19 Mathura Road, Opposite Pragati Maidan Gate# 7), New Delhi-110001.
At 6pm on Friday, 28th September 2018.

You are cordially invited.

S Venkat Narayan

Dr Rajiv Kumar: Age 67. Educated at Lucknow and Oxford Universities. Has a wide experience of having worked in government, academia, industry as well as in multinational institutions.

A founding director of Pahle India Foundation, Dr. Kumar was a Fellow at the Centre for Policy Research (CPR) and earlier the CEO of Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations(ICRIER). He has been Chief Economist at the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), and Secretary General of Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce & Industry (FICCI). Was a professor at Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT) and serves as the Chancellor of Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics, Pune.

In the government, he was Economic Advisor with Department of Economic Affairs (DEA), Ministry of Finance and Bureau of Industrial Costs and Prices(BICP), Ministry of Industry. He was Principal Economist at Asian Development Bank, Manila where he spent 10 years. Prior to his appointment as Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog, he served on many Boards including that of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) and the State Bank of India (SBI).

The NITI Aayog (Hindi for Policy Commission), also National Institution for Transforming India, is a policy think tank of the Government of India, established with the aim to achieve Sustainable Development Goals and to enhance cooperative federalism by fostering the involvement of State Governments of India in the economic policy-making process using a bottom-up approach.

It was established in 2015, by the NDA government, to replace the Planning Commission which followed a top-down model. The Prime Minister is the Ex-officio chairman. The permanent members of the governing council are all the state Chief Ministers, along with the Chief Ministers of Delhi and Puducherry, the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar, and a vice chairman nominated by the Prime Minister. In addition, temporary members are selected from leading universities and research institutions. These members include a chief executive officer, four ex-official members and two part-time members.